AmeriPlan

It’s Groundhog Day! (No it isn’t. But it is, kind of.)

It's that time again!

It’s that time again!

Are you a procrastinator or do you conquer your to-do list every single day?

I’m a reforming procrastinator so some days it takes monumental effort to cross all the tasks off my list. When I start making excuses about not completing a specific task, I know it’s time to revisit my goals and reacquaint myself with the big picture again. I finally decided to approach my workdays as Groundhog Days until I get my systems running smoothly; one of these days they will all flow perfectly. But for now, when the excuses start happening, I just get out of my headspace for a few minutes.

Why am I putting this off? How do I switch up my priorities? How can I change the way I feel about getting this task done? Because really, don’t we already know what’s required to get our daily tasks done?

How do we stop making excuses?

Simple. By just not making excuses anymore.

But:
1) I’m busy!
2) I’m tired.
3) I don’t feel like it.
4) I’m in a bad mood.
5) I don’t have time for this right now.

Well, hummmph. When there is something you really want to do like watch your favorite show, read a novel, get your nails done, buy computer equipment, whatever your thing is, don’t you make time for it?

If that thing were all of a sudden really, really, really expensive, wouldn’t you find the time and the money to do it if you really, really, really wanted to?

Of course you would.

So reexamine what’s tripping you up and kick those excuses to the curb. It’s not easy but if you work on it a little bit every day, you’ll eventually reach your Groundhog Day. That’s my goal!

2 replies »

  1. My problem is that I put way too many things on my to-do list than I could feasibly finish in one day. I think I may need to do a better job of prioritizing tasks.

  2. I do the same thing and then get overwhelmed!

    I’ve started to give myself a timer for my to-do list: like, I will only work on this for 15-20 minutes and if it’s not done, I’ll come back to it later. Sometimes me dreading the task and putting it off takes longer than doing darn thing in the first place!

Leave a Reply

