Uncategorized

If you knew everything would be okay, could you stop freaking out?

This thought has been on my mind a lot over the past year. Huge life events occurred for me over the past 18 months and I surprised myself (most of the time) with my ability to accept situations, remain calm and refrain from freaking out. Is this maturity? Is this just a symptom of being tired? Or is this just having faith that things really will be all right?

I’m a firm believer that “things” work out as they should. Sometimes we might take a zig-zag journey only to land in the exact same place we would have ended up had we travelled in a straight line. The experiences were different, but the result was the same.

What is your biggest fear? When you get right down to it, in the middle of the night or in a crisis situation, what paralyzes you?

I was always frightened about not having a job. This snowballed into: not having money, not being able to pay rent, having to sell all my worldly possessions (which ironically, I gave away before going abroad in 2011), becoming destitute and living on the streets, etc, etc. But has this ever happened?

No.

Has it ever come close to happening?

No.

Even in the worst of times, I always knew I could rely on my family and friends and in that respect I feel very lucky. And at the heart of it, I knew I could rely on me. I think we all need to give ourselves a lot more credit for being able to get through serious situations and arrive smiling on the other side. Be your own champion.

So how would you live if you knew everything really would be okay? Could you lead a happier more fulfilling life?

I think we all could.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

