Uncategorized

What if you did everything you said you were going to do?

Yesterday as I was driving home, a strange thought popped into my head.

What if I did everything I said I was going to do this year?

As someone who previously went overboard setting new year’s resolutions (and out of defiance for a few years, no resolutions), this question appealed to me on many levels. Mainly for its built-in accountability. Obviously, I don’t mean this question in a literal sense because clearly there is a difference between saying “I’m going to marry Benedict Cumberbatch in 2014” and “I’m going to do 25 crunches a day in 2014.” Although I am quite happy to entertain proposals if Ben happens across this blog!

What would life by like if we did everything we said we were going to do? And I don’t just mean checking off boxes on your “stuff that has to get done” list, although that is kind of a given.

What if we:

  • Kept every promise that we made? To ourselves and to others?
  • Met every plan and obligation that was made? On time?
  • Returned phone calls? Better yet, answered our phones when they rang?  Or even better yet (I’m looking at you, mom), didn’t hang up on people when there was someone unwanted or unexpected on the other end?
  • Dreamed a wild, fantastic dream for ourselves and figured out how to make it happen?

Promises and deals with ourselves are not easy to keep. That’s why (most) people fail. I’m one of them! I’m one of those people who suffer from chronic sinus problems that often take me out for days at a time. Many times if I approach those days with a “how can I get things done today” mindset things work out much better than if I just sit on my duff with tylenol and hot tea trying to simply feel better. Some days I do just have to sit on my duff. It happens. But what if I make a deal with myself that I will push through every day no matter what?

Perhaps this is not an issue for highly-disciplined people. Maybe I am just a slob and I’m finally reaching a higher level of understanding. But I do sense if all of us honored ourselves and others with the promises we make, this will be a fantastic year.

P.S. “I will eat 20 cookies today” doesn’t count.

What do you think? Is this girl crazy or does what I’m saying sound possible?

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies »

  1. I think the problem lies in the word ‘everything.’ I’ve read that just setting one goal or a few goals, or setting a goal with ‘mini-goals’ or milestones, is the best way to go. If your goals can make up a list, you might be setting yourself up for failure. Finding the sweet spot is the tough thing: you can’t set the bar too high, but you shouldn’t set it too low either.

  2. For me it’s about 1) keeping it real and 2) not overpromising myself or others. I think we can all get bogged down with laundry lists of things to do, but I’m thinking more basic human “everythings” – not creating unsurmountable goals.

Leave a Reply

