Parenting

In case of emergency

tweetSo, once again I was up in the wee hours of the night. I’ve discovered the only way to keep myself from spending an hour on my phone until I feel sleepy again (reading gossip blogs, scanning Pinterest, and super important things like that) is to physically put my phone in another room. Or better yet, leave it in the car on the other side of the parking lot.

We are getting used to a lot of new nighttime noises in our household because:

1) a herd of elephants armed with power tools has moved in upstairs

2) people are firing up hot water heaters. I typically run white noise for bebe and sometimes that drowns out the loud. (By the way, last week I heard what I thought was a dog barking in the dog run out back, so I stepped out to investigate. Turns out it was a coyote in the open space behind our place. Creepy/cool.)

But last night I was hearing a new and strange loud noise and true to form, I went into panic mode. I started thinking about emergencies and what the heck I would do if something happened. I do live in an apartment complex, and although we’ve been here a year with no incident, you never know when something could happen. The panicky person inside of me is always afraid someone will start a fire. But who knows. With all the crazy fires, flooding and other disasters in Colorado of late, it could be almost anything.

How many of you are already prepared for imminent disaster and what does that look like?

Do I need to keep an overnight emergency bag and important papers close at hand? The worry-wart inside me wants to know.

Categories: Parenting

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

