Work

Why is MLM considered a dirty word? (Well, acronym.)

My colleague Jessica did a blog post about the perception of MLM‘s (multilevel marketing companies) recently and it really got me thinking about why that word (errr, acronym) is so polarizing.

If you’ve ever heard of Arbonne or Amway, Pampered Chef or Tupperware, then you’re already familiar with multilevel marketing companies. Independent reps or consultants have a product and they market it to individuals using their networks. When they make a sale, they get paid. Pretty simple. So why do folks get so squirrely when they find out AmeriPlan is multilevel marketing? I’ve been trying to wrap my head around that for a few months.

I talk to dozens of people on the phone and e-mail almost every day. Part of my business is to explain what AmeriPlan is: who we are, what we do, and how telecommuters get paid. Once in a while I talk with someone who gets really agitated because they’ve done some internetting (I’m inventing that word if someone hasn’t already) and come across a chat board or youtube video that insists AmeriPlan isn’t legit. I encourage everyone to do their homework. Call some folks who work for the company. In fact, you can call the company! Their number is 800-647-8421 and they are located in Dallas, Texas. Check out the segment Good Morning America did on Ameriplan recently. Trust me: I’m a single mom trying to support my kid so there’s no way I’d hop on something that was risky. It does take time, however. Nobody becomes a millionaire overnight. But with hard work and persistence, you can reach some significant financial goals.

Here are my takeaways on why people may get fidgety about this work-from-home business and why they should rest assured it’s on the up-and-up.

1) AmeriPlan offers a service: discounted health benefits, which are an alternative or a supplement to traditional insurance. It’s kind of like having a Costco card or Sam’s Club Card. Sign up for your card, go to their store (or in Ameriplan’s case, our big network of doctors and pharmacies), and get discounts right up front. The great thing here is that there are no waiting periods, co-pays or deductibles to meet – you just go straight to our docs and voila! Other MLM’s offer tangible products like lotions or cookware you can hold in your hand. Maybe a tangible product vs. a service sketches people out? To be fair, your AmeriPlan membership card is tangible. You can hold on to that. 🙂

2) Telecommuting for AmeriPlan is work. I think there is an expectation that fortunes are made overnight. There are plenty of top earners at AmeriPlan, but they sure didn’t get there in a week! How long did it take you to train and be comfortable in your current position? A week? A month? Three or four months? I’d wager that it took a while. Starting a new business from home is no different. For those that make a commitment to stick with it, they will see results.

Ameriplan has been around more than 20 years, has 1.7 million members using their health plans, and employs more than 50,000 home workers. I think those numbers speak for themselves, non?

If you’re looking for a way to supplement your income or even replace your current income, take a minute to visit www.tracktofreedom.com. Getting out of the rat race was a huge relief for me. I set my own hours, I have an amazing, supportive group of colleagues, and I have health benefits (with no waiting periods, co-pays or deductibles to meet.) It’s a beautiful thing.

Categories: Work

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

