Play

It’s #DreamDay

This morning on the Today show I saw a segment on #DreamDay celebrating the 50th anniversary of MLK’s “I have a dream” speech. Twitter has been blowing up with all kinds of comments, both serious and silly, but it really got me thinking.

What do I dream about? (Apart from the obvious – tornadoes and the apocalypse. Although last night I had a dream that I saw some copper coins in a fountain and I went to pick them up and they swam away from me in a transparent fish. Someone want to break that down for me?) I’ve been mulling this Dream Day thing over for a few hours and came to the conclusion that most of my dreams for the future are now for my son. I still have a few selfish wants of my own, of course: retiring early, traveling before I’m too old, losing 20 pounds.

Ok, ok, many of you will think I’m mommyjacking but my outlook on the future has changed considerably. I used to roll my eyes and scoff at moms who would drop the “this child is the most important thing I’ve ever done” slow-wall-slide kind of comment or how many moms seemed to have no life aside from their children. All I can say to that is, it happens! I’d wager most parents want the best for their children and want them to grow up in better circumstances than they had. I have no complaints about the way my parents raised me (aside from their weird gift-giving habits, which if any of you know me, you know what I’m talking about.) In the grand scheme of things, that’s a pretty awesome complaint.

So here’s my #DreamDay shortlist. I dream that one day my kid can grow up in a world that practices:

  • tolerance
  • open-mindedness
  • empathy
  • a world view
  • freedom of expression

We all have a lot. And we can all give a lot, too. So that’s my dream.

What’s yours?

Categories: Play

Tagged as:

3 replies »

  1. My kid was born in America but as she approaches her 2nd birthday in another country, it occurs to me she might never know what it means to BE an American. My dream/hope/anxiety is that never becomes a hindrance for her, or a regret for me. (Did I just daddyjack this?)

  2. Jason, what does it mean to you to be an American? In my recent travels, my foreigner friends seemed to think all Americans are rich, entitled power-mongers. Thankfully I proved them wrong because I’m none of those things. (I think.)

  3. I dunno if I have a broad definition of what an American IS, in the sociological sense. I think we’re open, and frank, and we hold on to hope more fervently than what I’ve seen of other nationalities, but that’s probably skewed by my own biases. I just want her to know the American experience at some point, ya know? Going to IHOP, watching our television, getting a library card, etc. I know all those things are doable here in Poland, but they’re not doable in “the American way”. I’m being shallow, I’m aware of it, but you want your kids to see things the way you saw them, and that doesn’t mean you just want to open their heads and empty your life and knowledge and prejudices into them.

Leave a Reply

