Work

Can people actually work at home and make a living?

I have a newfound respect for SAHM’s and WAHM’s. My dad was career military and my mom stayed home to raise me and my sister, so I saw being a stay-at-home-mom as an option for myself when I was a kid (since your parents are always your first role models.)  As an adult I quickly dismissed the idea of 1) having a child on my own or 2) staying at home to raise a child because 1) how on earth could you afford that and 2) I figured I would quickly go crazy without daily interaction with other adults. Turns out I have to work harder on #2 but everything else seems to be working itself out.

Here’s what I am enjoying about working from home.

1) I work for myself. I don’t have to clock in. If I’m sick, I make up the time later. If I don’t meet my goals, I don’t make an income.

2) I’m working part-time. My son is in daycare two days a week and I work around his schedule the rest of the time. (This is not a bowl of cherries but it’s doable on most days. So far.)

I recently started a new job as a recruiter and benefits enroller for AmeriPlan, a discount medical plan organization. Essentially AmeriPlan offers steeply discounted medical benefits when you sign up for a membership. It is *not* insurance. It’s an alternative to insurance if you can’t afford the traditional route or a supplement to what you might already have. If you’re curious about how Obamacare will affect DMPO’s, Obamacare does not even touch dental or chiropractic benefits so you will still be responsible for those. My insurance runs out in November and I will not be renewing it. That’s how confident I feel that any medical situation I encounter can be affordably covered by AmeriPlan.

I first found out about AmeriPlan when I returned from South Korea and had no idea how I was going to fund this kid being born. Turns out there is no such thing as “maternity insurance” so if you see someone trying to sell you that, ladies, run quickly in the opposite direction. After tons of research and phone calling, I discovered that even if you have traditional insurance, some companies will not pay maternity costs unless you’ve been with the company for a certain period of time. I think 6 months is the norm. Even though I started a job during my pregnancy, I was already too far along for any benefits to kick in so that didn’t really help me.

It turns out that AmeriPlan has a hospital advocacy program that helps you manage your medical bills. If you have a hospital bill more than $2500 for any reason — ER visit, childbirth, surgery, whatever — they will negotiate directly with the hospital on your behalf so that your bills will be based on what you are able to actually pay. Some of my colleagues have had bills reduced from thousands to $0. (I don’t think this is the common situation, but it does happen.) I have testimonials out the wazoo if you’re interested. If you don’t have insurance and you’re asking yourself “can’t I just negotiate all my bills on my own?” Sure! Try it. I did but I was not successful. The most I ever got was a reduction of 20% on a blood test. Doctor’s offices do not make it easy for you to negotiate your bills – there are a lot of hoops to jump through. If you can afford it, let the professionals do it for you. At AmeriPlan all you have to do is sign up for one of their specific health plans and it’s included in your benefits. By the way, I am by no means pushing this – I think it’s important for people to know their options.

Anyway, I know this post is long and I don’t want to bore you to death. The nuts and bolts of what I do is speak with people who are already interested in AmeriPlan: they either want to know more about working from home or need health benefits. No cold calling (thank God.) If you want to know more, you can check out my website at www.tracktofreedom.com or shoot me an email at LLevaas@ameriplan.net.

So the answer to my question above? Yes. But you do have to actually work. If you know of a job where you can draw a high salary and not have to work, sign me up!

Categories: Work

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

